The 3 C’s, Caffiene, Carpal Tunnel, and Children

17 Aug

Someone please help me stay awake today!!! It has been a killer few days so far this week. I have been working 10hr days, sitting in front of a computer the entire time. I stopped at Royal Farm Store today and snagged a 24oz coffee. Let me tell you, if your a fan of coffee and have never tried theirs before…DO IT! I promise you won’t be disappointed.

 

For breakfast I had my normal Kashi cereal with strawberry Chobani and you’d think with all that protein i’d be wired. NOT!!! I keep telling myself I am doing it for the money! I NEED the money! You can do this!

So from all of my typing/writing, etc., my wrists have been KILLING me. Mainly my left one. Now I know I am most likely not sitting properly at my desk. (somewhat but not perfect) and that has been a definite factor but my wrists have always some what hurt for years now. Never anything i couldnt deal with but this week really bad to where I can ‘t even put pressure on my left one. My GH here at work (gay husband), Tim, told me to get it checked out and it will most likely be some form of carpal tunnel, have surgery and then take a vaca on short term disability! Ummm not sure about that one.

Well, i didn’t really understand carpal tunnel. I mean I knew the basics, how you get it, etc., but never knew about it in detail. So I did a bit of research and here is what I came up with:

Carpal Tunnel Syndrome – Topic Overview

 

What is carpal tunnel syndrome?

Carpal tunnel syndrome is pain, tingling, and other problems in your hand because of pressure on the median nerve in your wrist.

The median nerve and several tendons run from your forearm to your hand through a small space in your wrist called the carpal tunnel. The median nerve controls movement and feeling camera in your thumb and first three fingers (not your little finger).

What causes carpal tunnel syndrome?

Pressure on the median nerve causes carpal tunnel syndrome. This pressure can come from swelling or anything that makes the carpal tunnel smaller. Things that can lead to carpal tunnel syndrome include:

What are the symptoms?

Carpal tunnel syndrome can cause tingling, numbness, weakness, or pain in the fingers or hand. Some people may have pain in their arm between their hand and their elbow.

Symptoms most often occur in the thumb, index finger, middle finger, and half of the ring finger. If you have problems with your other fingers but your little finger is fine, this may be a sign that you have carpal tunnel syndrome. A different nerve gives feeling to the little finger.

You may first notice symptoms at night. You may be able to get relief by shaking your hand.

How is carpal tunnel syndrome diagnosed?

Your doctor will do a physical exam and ask about your health and activities. You also may have some tests.

Your doctor will ask if you have any health problems-such as arthritis, hypothyroidism, or diabetes-or if you are pregnant. He or she will ask if you recently hurt your wrist, arm, or neck. Your doctor will want to know about your daily routine and any recent activities that could have hurt your wrist.

During the exam, your doctor will check the feeling, strength, and appearance of your neck, shoulders, arms, wrists, and hands.

Your doctor may suggest tests, such as:

  • Blood tests to see if any health problems might be causing your symptoms.
  • Nerve testing to find out if the median nerve is working as it should.

How is it treated?

Mild symptoms usually can be treated with home care. The sooner you start treatment, the better your chances of stopping symptoms and preventing long-term damage to the nerve.

You can do a few things at home to help your hand and wrist feel better:

  • Stop activities that cause numbness and pain. Rest your wrist longer between activities.
  • Ice your wrist for 10 to 15 minutes 1 or 2 times an hour. Try taking nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs)to relieve pain and reduce swelling.
  • Wear a wrist splint at night to keep your wrist in a neutral position. This takes pressure off your median nerve. Your wrist is in a neutral position when it is straight or only slightly bent. Holding a glass of water is an example of your wrist in a neutral position.See your doctor if your symptoms do not get better after 1 to 2 weeks of home care, or if you have had bad symptoms from the start. You may need medicine for carpal tunnel syndrome or for a health problem that made you likely to get carpal tunnel syndrome.

    Surgery is an option. But it’s usually used only when symptoms are so bad that you can’t work or do other things even after several weeks to months of other treatment.

    During surgery, the doctor cuts the ligament at the top of the carpal tunnel. This makes more room in the tunnel and relieves pressure on the nerve. Surgery usually works to ease symptoms. But in some cases it does not completely get rid of numbness or pain

So there ya have it! I don’t believe I have numbness however I do smoke, (bleh), obseity (sigh), and I type all day (I am an FEP claims processor for Carefirst BCBS). So…I guess if it worsens I’ll call my Dr.

Random topic, I just wanted to announce how proud I am of my son. Luke has been waking up every morning for at least the past month with a clean pull-up on! I told him when he can start waking up at night to go pee on the potty instead of in his pull-ups he can have a big boy bed. Right now we have his crib broken down into a toddler bed. You should see him in it, since he is already big for his age…he looks ginormous in this bed. So I am going to get him a bed maybe tomorrow or by this weekend at latest. Yay for my boy! I had refused to purchase a twin bed for him if he was going to continue to pee and possibly ruin his mattress. No way Jose!! So I think with one of those plastic sheets over top of the mattress and under his cotton sheets he should be good to go now.

Well I’m off to my WW mtg., I will report back in a bit with some good or bad news! I have been off of WW for 3wks now and this is our first time back into the 2nd session. *keeps fingers crossed(=*

 

3 Responses to “The 3 C’s, Caffiene, Carpal Tunnel, and Children”

  1. The NEW Lindsay 08/22/2011 at 11:12 am #

    wow! thanks so much for that link!! i had never heard of RSI before….I actually think this sounds more like what I have been feeling in my arms (mainly wrists) vs carpal tunnel.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Nerve Conduction Studies - Repetitive Strain Injury - RSI Tips - 08/21/2011

    […] The 3 C’s, Caffiene, Carpal Tunnel, and Children (startinglifehealthy.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Musicians’ injuries « Community Care ::: Affordable Therapy Collect - 08/22/2011

    […] The 3 C’s, Caffiene, Carpal Tunnel, and Children (startinglifehealthy.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

